

Sejm Rzeczypospolitej Polskiej



Senat Rzeczypospolitej Polskiej

FOLKETINGET



Folketinget



Βουλή των Αντιπροσώπων της Κυπριακής Δημοκρατίας

Declaration of cooperation among the Houses of the Parliaments of Poland,
Denmark and Cyprus in connection with the preparation and accomplishment of the parliamentary dimension of the Presidencies of the three European Union Member States

1st July 2011–31st December 2012

Declaration of cooperation among the Houses of the Parliaments of Poland, Denmark and Cyprus in connection with the preparation and accomplishment of the parliamentary dimension of the Presidencies of the three European Union Member States 1st July 2011 – 31st December 2012

Taking into consideration:

- the active role of national parliaments in contributing to the correct functioning of the European Union,
- the significance of the Presidency of the European Union, the potential and challenges it presents for each of the EU Member States,

the Houses of the Parliaments of Poland, Denmark and Cyprus declare their resolve to cooperate and to give mutual support to one another during the preparation and accomplishment of the Presidency of the European Union, falling on the period of 18 months, starting 1st July 2011 through 31st December 2012.

Referring to the principle of respect for the autonomy of each parliament involved in interparliamentary cooperation, the Houses pledge:

- mutual support during the preparation and accomplishment of the parliamentary dimension of the Presidency, at the level of the speakers of the Parliaments of the Trio, committees on European Union affairs and other parliamentary agencies if it is essential for the implementation of the Presidency's programme;
- to exchange information on programmes, subjects and formula of the meetings to be held during the Presidency;
- to coordinate their cooperation with the European Parliament on the questions connected with the accomplishment of the parliamentary dimension, taking into consideration the systems of exercising Presidency over the Conference of Speakers of European Union Parliaments and the COSAC Conference of Community and European Affairs Committees.

Sy Mess

The accomplishment of this Declaration provides for:

- working meetings of representatives of the Houses and/or meetings organized on the occasion of EU interparliamentary meetings aimed at discussing current issues connected with the accomplishment of the Presidency's parliamentary dimension;
- working meetings of representatives of the Houses' administrations in order to consult one another, exchange best practices and prepare political-level meetings;
- closer cooperation among representatives of national parliaments in Brussels;
- a possibility to establish standing working teams on political and/or administrative level.

The Secretaries General of the Parliaments of the Trio Member States will take all the necessary measures to implement the provisions of this Declaration.

Signed in *Stockholm on 15th May 2010* in four identical copies.

Bronisław KOMOROWSKI

Bogdan BORUSEWICZ

Marshal of the Sejm

Marshal of the Senate

Thor PEDERSEN

Marios GAROYIAN

President of the Danish Parliament

President of the House of Representatives

Lasy Per