Presidency calendar: EU Council, COSAC, Conference of Speakers of EU Parliaments, IPEX

Year	EU Council Presidency ⁱ	EU Council Presidency trio ⁱⁱ	COSAC Presidency ⁱⁱⁱ	COSAC presidential <i>troika</i> iv (3 Member States + EP)	EU Speakers' Conference Presidency v	Participation in the IPEX Board ^{vi}
2009						
January-June	Czech Republic	France, Czech Republic,	Czech Republic	France, Czech Republic, Sweden	spring 2009-spring 2010	spring 2009-spring 2010
July-December	Sweden	Sweden	Sweden	Czech Republic, Sweden, Spain	Sweden	France, Sweden, Belgium
2010				,		
January-June	Spain	Spain, Belgium, Hungary	Spain	Sweden, Spain, Belgium	spring 2010 - spring 2011 Belgium	spring 2010 - spring 2011
July-December	Belgium		Belgium	Spain, Belgium, Hungary		Sweden, Belgium, Poland
2011						
January-June	Hungary	Spain, Belgium, Hungary	Hungary	Belgium, Hungary, Poland	spring 2011 - spring 2012	spring 2011 - spring 2012
July-December	Poland	Poland, Denmark, Cyprus	Poland	Hungary, Poland , Denmark	Poland	Belgium, Poland , Cyprus
2012						
January-June	Denmark	Poland, Denmark, Cyprus	Denmark	Poland, Denmark, Cyprus	spring 2012 - spring 2013	spring 2012 - spring 2013
July-December	Cyprus		Cyprus	Denmark, Cyprus, Ireland	Cyprus	Poland, Cyprus, Lithuania

¹ According to Article 16(9) of the TEU, the Presidency of the Council configurations, other than that of Foreign Affairs, is held on the basis of equal rotation in accordance with the conditions set out in Article 236 of the TFEU. The order in which the Member States hold the Presidency of the Council until 2020 is laid down in the Council Decision of 1 January 2007 (2007/5/EC, Euratom). The basic rules for the Presidency held by the groups of Member States are laid down in the European Council decision of 1 December 2009 (2009/881/EU).

ii In accordance with Article 1 of the European Council decision of 1 December 2009 (2009/881/EU) on the exercise of the Presidency of the EU Council, the Presidency of the EU Council, with the exception of the Foreign Affairs Council, is held by pre-established groups of three Member States for a period of 18 months (*trio*). The groups are

made up on a basis of equal rotation among the Member States, taking into account their diversity and geographical balance within the Union. Each member of the group chairs in turn, for a six-month period, all configurations of the Council, with the exception of the Foreign Affairs Council. The other members of the group assist the Presidency in all its responsibilities on the basis of a common programme. Taking account of the existing system of 18-month Council programmes, agreed by three Presidencies as of 1 January 2007, the order in which the groups of three Member States hold the 18-month Presidency is set out in Annex I to the Council Decision of 1 December 2009 (2009/908/EU). The detailed tasks of the Presidency are laid down in the Council's rules of procedure, enclosed with the Council Decision of 1 December 2009 (2009/937/EC).

- iii In accordance with clause 11.1 of the COSAC Rules of Procedure "The Community and European Affairs Committee of the Member State holding the Presidency of the Council of the European Union shall hold the Presidency of COSAC during that Presidency".
- ^{iv} In accordance with clause 2.5 of the COSAC Rules of Procedure the Presidential *troika* of COSAC consists of the Presidency, the preceding Presidency, the next Presidency and the European Parliament. Furthermore, section 11bis of the COSAC Rules of Procedure provides that the COSAC Secretariat is composed of officials from the Parliaments of the Presidential *troika*.
- ^v In accordance with the Guidelines (rules of procedure) of the Conference of Speakers of EU Parliaments (EUSC), the Parliament of the Member State holding the Presidency of the Council of the European Union in the second half of a calendar year will normally hold the Presidency of the Conference of Speakers of EU Parliaments in the first half of the following calendar year (Article 3(2)). The Presidency of the Conference starts from the end of the previous meeting (Article 3(5)).
- vi Clause 1.3.2 of the IPEX Guidelines provides that the Board consists of members representing the national parliaments hosting the previous, current and upcoming Conference of Speakers of EU Parliaments, which in accordance with terminology applied in the Guidelines of the EU Speakers' Conference, as amended in May 2010 is tantamount to the Member States holding the previous, current and upcoming Presidency of the Speakers' Conference (i.e. presidential *troika* of the Speakers' Conference, except that the term *troika* is not applied in the EUSC Guidelines).