Home > Interparliamentary Cooperation > Lexicon of multilateral parliamentary... > Parliamentary Assembly – Union for...


swedish pres 2023 logo

AAA Print

LEXICON Parliamentary Assembly – Union for the Mediterranean (PA-UfM) / Euro-Mediterranean Parliamentary Assembly (EMPA)

PA-UfM site

  1. The Euro-Mediterranean Parliamentary Assembly (EMPA) was established on 3 December 2003 in Naples by decision of the Euro-Mediterranean Conference of Foreign Affairs Ministers. The inaugural session was held in Vouliagmeni near Athens in March 2004. The Assembly is an institution set up under the Barcelona Process*, which provided a basis for the establishment in 2008 of the Union for the Mediterranean. The Partnership rests on three pillars: dialogue on political and security issues, partnership in economy and finance, and social, cultural and human partnership.
    During the 6th plenary session of the Assembly on 12-14 March 2010 the decision was made on changing the name EMPA into Parliamentary Assembly – Union for the Mediterranean (PA-UfM).
  2. The objective of PA-UfM is to influence the consolidation and development of the Barcelona Process and to contribute to enhancing its transparency. It has a consultative role with regard to issues arising from the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership. The Assembly also monitors the application of Euro-Mediterranean association agreements. Five committees have been established within the PA-UfM on the following issues: Political Affairs, Security and Human Rights; Economic and Financial, Social Affairs and Education; Promotion of the Quality of Life, Human Exchanges and Culture; Women’s Rights in the Euro-Mediterranean Counties; Energy, Environment and Water. The Assembly may set up working groups and instruct them to draw up draft reports and draft resolutions.
  3. The Parliamentary Assembly meets at least once a year. It has 280 members**: 132 members from the EU (83 members from 28 EU national parliaments and 49 EP members), 8 members of parliaments of European Mediterranean partner countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Monaco – 2 members each), 130 members of parliaments of the ten Mediterranean founder states (Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia, Turkey, Syria and the Palestinian Autonomy) and 10 members of the Mauritanian parliament. There are three representatives of the Polish parliament participating in the proceedings of the Assembly (two deputies and one senator).
  4. The Assembly may adopt positions, resolutions and make recommendations for the attention of the Euro-Mediterranean Ministerial Conference, the Council of the European Union and the European Commission. The documents may also be transmitted to the speakers of the parliaments and to the governments of the states participating in the Barcelona Process, and to other relevant parties (e.g. the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, the Secretary General of the Union for the Mediterranean). At the request of the Ministerial Conference, the Assembly issues opinions proposing the adoption of relevant measures for each aspect of the Barcelona Process. The working languages are English, French and Arabic. Documents of the Assembly are also translated into the other official languages of the EU and into Hebrew and Turkish. Documents are published on the PA-UfM webpage and translation of some documents into Polish on the OIDE website.

Updated: 11.08.2020

* The Barcelona Process was initiated in 1995 at the Euro-Mediterranean Foreign Ministers Conference in Barcelona, which adopted declaration and work programme constituting basis for the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership. The conference was attended by the then 15 EU Member States and the 12 Mediterranean countries of the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership (Algeria, Cyprus, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, Syria, Tunisia and Turkey). This partnership focuses on three main aspects: political and security issues, economic and financial matters as well as social, cultural and human partnership.

** Data based on Rules of procedure of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Union for the Mediterranean as approved by the Plenary on 13 May 2017, rule 2 point 2.