Home > Interparliamentary Cooperation > Lexicon of multilateral parliamentary... > Inter-Parliamentary Conferenceon...



AAA Print

LEXICON Interparliamentary Conference on Stability, Economic Coordination and Governance in the European Union

IPC SECG website

  1. Interparliamentary Conference on Stability, Economic Coordination and Governance in the European Union (IPC SECG) constitutes implementation of Article 13 of the Treaty on Stability, Coordination and Governance (TSCG), which provides for setting up a conference of representatives of the relevant committees of the EP and of national parliaments in order to discuss budgetary policies and other issues covered by the Treaty.
  2. In implementation of Article 13 of the Treaty, the basic principles of the Conference were defined by the Conference of Speakers of the EU Parliaments on 21-23 April 2013 in Nicosia. The inaugural meeting - under the name of Interparliamentary Conference on Economic and Financial Governance1 - took place on 16-17 October 2013 in Vilnius, and the rules of procedure were adopted on 10 November 2015 in Luxembourg.
  3. The Interparliamentary Conference is composed of delegations of the national parliaments of the EU Member States and the European Parliament. Parliaments decide on the composition and size of their delegations. In addition, each national parliament of a candidate country may be represented by two observers.
  4. Meetings of the Conference are organised twice a year, in coordination with the cycle of the European Semester. In the first semester the Conference is held in Brussels and co-hosted and co-presided over by the European Parliament and the parliament of the state holding the Presidency of the EU Council, and in the second semester - in the Member State holding the EU Presidency and is presided over by the parliament of this state. The secretariat of the presiding Parliament prepares the necessary documents. In the first semester of each year the documentation is prepared together with the European Parliament. The working languages of the Inter-Parliamentary Conference are English and French. The Conference operates on the basis of the principle of consensus. According to the rules of procedure, the Presidency Parliament may present non-binding conclusions on the outcome of the meeting. 


 Updated: 24.07.2023