Home > Interparliamentary Cooperation > Lexicon of multilateral parliamentary... > The EURONEST Parliamentary Assembly


logo be

AAA Print

LEXICON The EURONEST Parliamentary Assembly

EURONEST Parliamentary Assembly

  1. The Eastern Partnership (EP) is an EU initiative proposed by Poland and Sweden, addressed to the Eastern European and South Caucasian countries previously covered by the European Neighbourhood Policy (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus*, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine), which enables them to gradually join the EU policies and programmes and integration with the common market. The Joint Declaration establishing the EP was adopted at the Summit on 7 May 2009 in Prague.
  2. The EP encompasses both the bilateral and multilateral dimensions. The former provides for the establishment of closer relations between the EU and each of the partner states, including the signing of association agreements, the creation of extensive free trade zones, gradual liberalisation of the visa regime, closer cooperation to strengthen energy security, and support with regard to economic and social policy, and creation of a comprehensive institutional development programme for the partner states.
  3. The multilateral dimension is to provide a forum for information and experience exchange on the activities of partner states and a related EU support instrument. It is centred around 4 policy platforms (democracy, rule of law, respect for human rights and market economy; economic integration and convergence with EU policies; energy security; people-to-people contacts, culture, education, research). An institutional basis for multilateral cooperation is provided by meetings of heads of states and governments of the EU Member States and partner countries (every 2 years), annual meetings of ministers of foreign affairs and – from May 2011 – the EURONEST Parliamentary Assembly.
  4. The EURONEST Parliamentary Assembly consists of 110 deputies: 60 Members of the European Parliament and 10 deputies from each partner state. The Assembly is organized on the basis of parliamentary delegations established by its two components, which elect two Co-Presidents of equal status . EURONEST appoints four standing committees corresponding with 4 thematic platforms; adopts resolutions, recommendations and opinions.
  5. The EURONEST is to be a body responsible for multilateral parliamentary dialogue, forum for consultation, control and monitoring all issues related to the Eastern Partnership. Should contribute to the effective promotion and strengthening of the Eastern Partnership within the above mentioned thematic platforms. The opening sitting of the Assembly was held on 3 May 2011, without the participation of parliamentarians from Belarus.
  6. The governmental and parliamentary dimensions of the EP are complemented by the Civic Society Forum, which meets once a year in November, starting in 2009. Its participants, representing about 200 NGOs, discuss in working groups representing the four policy platforms, and formulate recommendations presented at meetings of ministers of foreign affairs.

Updated: 29.05.2023