Home > Interparliamentary Cooperation > Conferences in the Sejm > Working Group on the 'yellow card'...


logo be

AAA Print

Working Group on improving the 'yellow card' procedure Warsaw, 13 May 2015

The Working Group on improving the 'yellow card' procedure, chaired by Ms Agnieszka Pomaska, Chair of the EU Affairs Committee of the Sejm, held its meeting on 13 Maj 2015 in Warsaw.
The members of the Group, established at the informal meeting of the chairpersons of EU Committees of national Parliaments, organized on the initiative of the Dutch House of Representatives on 19 January 2015 in Brussels, are interested chairpersons of the European Affairs Committees of Parliaments of the EU Member States and the European Parliament.
The debate focused on:
1. Closer involvement and cooperation by national Parliaments in European affairs – better use of the mechanisms available to them
2. Possibilities for national Parliaments to scrutinize proportionality on an equal footing with subsidiarity
3. Improving the timeliness and quality of the European Commission's response to reasoned opinions and opinions sent by national Parliaments under the political dialogue
4. The possibility of extending the deadline for reasoned opinions from 8 to 12 weeks
The meeting was attended by parliamentarians from 14 Chambers/Parliaments as well as by parliamentary experts and officials from the European Parliament and the European Commission.

The outcome of the meeting will be presented during the plenary meeting of COSAC in Riga, 31 May – 2 June 2015.

Draft program of the meeting pdf
Speech by Marshal of the Sejm, Mr Radosław Sikorski pdf
Working paper pdf
Summary of the proposals pdf
Letter from Mr Richárd Hörcsik, Chair of the European Affairs Committee, Hungarian National Assembly pdf
List of participants pdf

Report of the Working Group presented at the COSAC meeting, 2.06.2015, Riga pdf
Appendix pdf

Information on the Sejm website (PL)

Background paper
5 years of the subsidiarity scrutiny pdf
1. Reasoned opinions - statistics pdf
2. Documents of interparliamentary cooperation and of the EU institutions on the subsidiarity pdf